Girl

Girl

I don’t understand

I don’t know why

I can’t understand

Why you had to leave

How could you leave

Even after you’ve

Witnessed my pain

You saw my weaknesses

Witnessed my sorrow

Saw my unquantifiable tears

And shared in my fears??

 

Girl

Oh girl

Was my pain

Too difficult to bear

Was my tears

Too hot to behold

Was my distresses

Too difficult to handle

Why did you

Have to leave?

 

Girl

Was it because

I didn’t love you enough

Was because

I didn’t show you

How much I care

Was it because

I didn’t hold you dear?

 

Girl

Please, tell me

Why you had to leave

You meant so much more to me

Am sorry

I didn’t love you enough

Please,

Come again

And I will hold you dear

Come again

And I will love you well

Come again

And I will never hold back my love

From you.

©Adeyemi Aderonke

Leave a comment